“I want the things I do to feel unique and personal… If people can tell the difference between my interpretation and another’s I feel like I’ve done my job.” -Lee Bermejo

DarkMedia Interviews Lee Bermejo:

Just in time for the holidays, DC Comics has released an incredible graphic novel based on Charles Dickens’ classic “A Christmas Carol” — staring The Dark Knight himself.  With artwork so stunning and dynamic you’d almost swear it was alive, this is not your average adaptation on any level.  Clever and fresh, while still remaining respectfully faithful to both Batman and Charles Dickens, Batman: Noël is a must read.

The man behind the bat is none other than Lee Bermejo, who many will remember for his artwork in New York Times best seller, “Joker”, written by Brian Azzarello.  Pulling double duty as artist and author this time around, Bermejo has proven himself to be a formidable force in the comic industry.  A rising star — and definitely one to watch.

DarkMedia had the pleasure of talking with Lee not only about Batman: Noël, but his work on Hellblazer, his best advice for aspiring artists, and how living in Italy, in the midst of so much classic art, has inspired his work.

Congratulations on the amazing work you did, both as a writer an an illustrator on Batman: Noel. Can you tell us a little about how the project came about? Is this something DC pitched to you, or was it a project you came up with on your own?

The project came about by accident really. I was mulling over the possibility of two other different projects, one being an adaptation of a classic work of literature for a French publisher and the other being a Batman story that featured the character that would eventually become Bob in NOEL. As I was thinking…

[Visit DarkMedia.com for the full interview]

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on ““I want the things I do to feel unique and personal… If people can tell the difference between my interpretation and another’s I feel like I’ve done my job.” -Lee Bermejo”

  1. zombie cartoon Says:

    Excellent blog right here! Also your site rather a lot up fast! What host are you the use of? Can I get your associate link to your host? I desire my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Review of Batman: Noël | DarkMediaMagazine - November 17, 2011

    […] “I want the things I do to feel unique and personal… If people can tell the difference b… November 17, 2011 […]

Leave a comment